• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Making various Japanese style desserts

Akiko

Forgive me if we discussed this and its buried somewhere in the topics... I can't find anything on it.

This is one of my favorite desserts so I was really surprised to find that I don't have a recipe for it. I love cohee zeri, especially the one with a bit of cream on top. Does anyone have a recipe they could share with me?

I looove coffee jelly!

I have never tried it before because my kids don't like it and I can buy it so cheaply anywhere. :raz:

gallery_6134_1003_7398.jpg

This cost me 84yen...

I would love to try a recipe too if anyone has one.

Kristin Wagner, aka "torakris"

I usually don't make coffee jelly (have made it only two or three times only in my life), but here's a recipe that I've wanted to try some day:

http://www.flavorcoffee.co.jp/flavor5.html

(Japanese only)

Since I don't have coffee beans suitable for making iced coffee at the moment, however, I decided to make coffee jelly using instant coffee.

Here's what I did:

Ingredients:

3 1/2 heaped teaspoons of instant coffee (Gold Blend)

10 g gelatin

Dissolve instant coffee in a small amount of hot water.

In another container, dissolve gelatin in a small amount of hot water.

Mix them together.

Add cold water so that the mixture amounts to 500 ml.

The gelatin-to-water ratio (10g to 500 ml) is the same as the one in the recipe I provided a link to (13 g to 650 ml).

Put the mixture in a container and let it cool in the fridge.

I cut the resulting jelly into cubes and put some in a coffee cup. I poured some gum syrup and fresh cream.

gallery_16375_5_55727.jpg