• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

What makes the perfect Welsh cake? All lard? All butter? 50/50?

Proportions of spice? (Speaking of spice, approximately what proportions of cinnamon, nutmeg, etc. make up British "mixed spice"?)

Any and all advice (and recipes too) very, very welcome!

kit

"I'm bringing pastry back"

Weebl

The one I've been cooking for 20 years:

2 1/4 cups flour

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon nutmeg

3/4 butter

1/2 cup light brown sugar

3 oz. mixed dried fruit (I use currants and/or golden raisins)

1 egg, beaten

TONS of butter for grilling...

1. Sift flower, baking powder, and nutmeg in bowl.

2. Rub in the butter until the mixture resembles fine crumbs, then stir in the sugar and fruit.

3. Mix to a firm dough with the egg and knead on a lightly floured surface.

4. Roll out to 1/2 inch thick and cut into 3" rounds.

5. Heat griddle or large frying pan to medium, with a tablespoon or two of melted butter for each batch.

6. Cook the cakes in 2 batches for 5 to 7 minutes on each side, until evenly browned and firm to the touch.

6. Cool slightly, serve warm if possible with yet more butter and preserves.

I discovered this recipe about four years ago and have been very pleased with the results.

If you need to convert it, let me know and I will post a site that has all the conversions you might need.

I have a scale that shows metric as well as oz/pounds.

I use a little more of the sweet spice mix than called for. It is a personal taste thing.

My spice mixture is made up ahead of time as I grind my spices fresh, then store the mix in a little airtight jar.

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg