• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

german buttercream

MightyD

hi all,

i have a customer request for a "custard buttercream" and the closest i can think of is a german buttercream. problem is, i've never done it before and have no idea how it should taste, feel, etc etc.

the recipe that i have is from the massive CSI's Baking & Pastry book. calls for equal amounts of pastry cream and butter, plus a touch of confectioners' sugar. has anyone tried this recipe?

help!!!! :blink:

hi all,

i have a customer request for a "custard buttercream" and the closest i can think of is a german buttercream.  problem is, i've never done it before and have no idea how it should taste, feel, etc etc. 

the recipe that i have is from the massive CSI's Baking & Pastry book.  calls for equal amounts of pastry cream and butter, plus a touch of confectioners' sugar.  has anyone tried this recipe?

help!!!! :blink:

Haven't tried it, but sounds like it would work. Why wouldn't you try a small batch and test it yourself?

He who distinguishes the true savor of his food can never be a glutton; he who does not cannot be otherwise. --- Henry David Thoreau

I think a German buttercream is what they are talking about. I happen to like them, their slightly "richer"/"heavier" and well, I like that (maybe cause I'm part German). I can't think off the top of my head what the exact proportions of pastry cream to butter are............so I would follow the recipe you have. But adding xxxsugar seems wrong to me. Maybe someone else will jump in here and know.

If you can give me a day or two, I can find other recipes for you to compare to?