• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Pan Frying

jogoode

Tonight I battered fish -- with a mixture of tumeric, red chili, gram flour, water and lemon juice, a la Monica Bhide and Sudhir Seth's eGCI course :smile: -- but when I pan fried, the batter stuck to the bottom of the pan and was thus stripped from the fish. I made enough batter to cover the fish only lightly -- should I have used more batter? I used enough oil to come half way up the sides of my battered fish -- did I use too much, too little?

More generally, are there any tips on pan frying that you experienced folks have come up with? (I'm a novice.) And what do you like to pan fry?

JJ Goode

Co-author of Serious Barbecue, which is in stores now!

www.jjgoode.com

"For those of you following along, JJ is one of these hummingbird-metabolism types. He weighs something like eleven pounds but he can eat more than me and Jason put together..." -Fat Guy

Oil coming up halfway is more than sufficient for shallow frying. Was it hot enough when you slid the fish in? The objective of frying is to coagulate the batter and cook the encapsulated food by inside steaming/heat. If the heat is not high enough then there is oil ingress before the sealing of the batter. And you must give the fish a gentle stir initially to prevent it from sticking.

One way of ensuring that pan frying is less oily is to remove the food at high heat. Switch off the heat once the food is out of the oil and is held against the side of the pan.

What kind of a pan did you use?

I fry by the heat of my pans. ~ Suresh Hinduja

http://www.gourmetindia.com