• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

The Melting Pot in Irvine. Ever been?

jamesaru

Hi Everyone!

Noob here! Anywho, I just wanted to see if any of you have been to The Melting Pot in Irvine (or any of the other locations). We'll be going there with a group of friends for a pre Valentine's day dinner. Any recommendations or things to avoid (particularly when it comes to the type of cooking liquid)?

I've searched around and found reviews but they seem pretty mixed. I'm still going to go in there with an open mind though and not let those bad reviews ruin it!

I think I'm mostly looking forward to the chocolate fondue. Mmmmmmm........drool.

"Cookies ‘n Cream Marshmallow Dream

Dark chocolate topped with marshmallow cream, flambéed to

toast the marshmallow, swirled together and garnished with

crushed Oreo cookies."

Thanks!

-james

p.s. If you're interested you can see a menu HERE. (It's a PDF File)

Edited by jamesaru (log)

Here's a discussion about fondu and The Melting Pot, from the NJ forum. I've only been to one in Florida, about four years ago. While not the most amazing culinary experience in the world, it is a great social experience. Go and have fun, and if you go with a larger group you get to have more of a variety of cooking liquids and ingredient choices.

Hi Everyone,

So we went to The Melting Pot this past Friday and here's a little write up in case you're interested.

The Mood: