• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Quality food shopping for the home cook?

JPW

Greetings all,

My first post on the DC board, so please allow me to introduce myself.

I'm Joe.

But seriously, came across the site from the Rick Bayless article in the post the other day. It's what I always dreamed of. Food, good food, is very important to me. I spent a fair amount of time in my youth working kitchen and bar (long enough ago that I tended bar for Todd English on martha's vineyard when he only had the original Olives and the pizza place). Since then, I've been a home cook and (when finances allow) restaurant junkie.

Been in DC (Silver Spring actually) for just over two years. Pocketbook and personal tastes tend to run more towards the mid-range good honest food than the elegant. However, I am saving up my pennies (OK dimes and quarters) for a dreamed of trips to Citronelle and Laboratorio de G. The Jaleos are by far the favorite local "everyday" type restaurants for my wife and me. Love the food at Zaytinya, but find the atmosphere a little too impersonal for my tastes (must say though that the design is beautiful, just not the type of atmosphere I personally find comfortable). We also enjoy Firefly greatly for slightly less frequent visitations. Spend most of the rest of our dollars in DC's super-abundant ethnic restaurants - for example -- T.H.A.I in Shirlington and Roger Miller in downtown SS.