• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Buying a Hog Direct from the Farm

Chris Hennes

I'm currently in the process of purchasing a whole hog from a local breeder who posted a classified ad. I'm still learning the details, and I think the ways things work vary from farm to farm and from processor to processor. I'd like to try to get the collective eGullet Society wisdom on buying hogs direct so that next time someone tries they aren't quite as in the dark as I was/am!

My breeder raises show pigs, so it's a very small operation, I think partially just a hobby. When I answered his classified ad he asked me if this was my first time purchasing a whole hog, and was happy to help, but since he didn't know what I didn't know, and neither did I, there were some details I missed.

1) The hogs were slaughtered directly on his farm, then moved to the processor's location. The processor was not allowed to put the heads or feet in his cooler with the rest of the pig, so I had to pick them up on location. Is slaughtering on the farm common for these small operators?

2) Post-slaughter the hogs were skinned. I am used to ordering my bellies skin-on so it didn't even occur to me that they would do this. Is this due to the hog being slaughtered on the farm? Is it common to skin the hogs? How do I get a hog with the skin intact?