• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Starting from scratch

Oscar83

Hello everyone,

I've just started my potentially future cooking career, and I'm seeking some insight into people's experiences when they started up.

My situation is the following:

I've been taken under the wing of a respectable chef that owns his restaurant in the city of Montpellier (Southern France). He was looking for an apprentice, a complete beginner even, to help him in his kitchen. I happened to fill that candidature as I have never been in a kitchen previous to this and my cooking knowledge is quite limited. The kitchen has the Chef himself, a sous-chef and me. The Chef cooks the "important" plates, so to speak, while the sous-chef does all the other preparations and minor plates. I do a bit of everything. Cut, peel, prepare sauces and just recently (after 2 weeks of working) I've been assigned to the desserts section so I can become self-automated (is that a word?). So I get to see a lot, also a lot of hands-on experience, but, it's also an incredible amount of hours.