• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Uniform Questions - Shoes and Pants

rubyred

I'm a personal chef, about to go to Paris for a workshop at Atelier Pierre Herme.

My question is about my uniform: I usually wear Puma sneakers in the kitchen and yoga pants instead of chef pants, for the fit and comfort.

Will these items be acceptable in a (French) professional kitchen? I am not keen on spending money on things I may never use again. On the other hand, I have my doubts about my Pumas from a safety standpoint; are they slip-resistant enough?

Cheers for any advice!

I would expect that black, leather, slip-resistant shoes and either black or herringbone chef pants would be suggested, if not required. Does the workshop information not give any detail? You could also try calling whomever you booked the reservation with. And, not to get into another long drawn out "this is the kind of shoe I wear" conversation... Spend the money on a good pair of shoes: Dansko, Birkenstock London's, Sanita, Chefwear, whoever fits you well and feels good, and spend the money for at least one pair of black chef pants. You'll be surprised at how long both last, how versatile they both are, and how comfortable you are.

Bryan C. Andregg

"Give us an old, black man singing the blues and some beer. I'll provide the BBQ."

Wearing anything other than non-slip shoes is just plain foolish.  If I had my own place and you showed up on the first day in Pumas I'd tell you to go home and never come back.