• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

What does 3-4 star mean to you?

AsianEscoffier

As a journeyman cook, my career has enabled me to live and work in various cities. When I first moved to San Francisco in 2006, I was shocked when I found out the Chronicle ratings for various restaurants in town. I recall working in a certain manhattan restaurant, and the level of tension that permeated the kitchen when we found out that Grimes(NY Times) was coming in to eat. This restaurant had an amazing staff, and outstanding chef, and at the time(2002/2003) I believe that it was the best seafood restaurant in the city. When the review came out, and we had got our 3 stars, everyone was excited, the chef was patted on the back, cooks got glasses of champagne, it was a good moment, that had punctuated a tough tough season of working our asses off. And why? cause, even in a city with thousands of chefs with 4 star ambitions, getting 3 stars meant something. It meant you were good. Really good. There are numerous superstars that have never had more then 3 nytimes stars, and they are no less then culinary gods in my mind.