• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

"Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day" Zoe Francois (2008–2009)

CaliPoutine

Anyone have this book? I read about it over on the Cook's Illustrated Boards. I started a batch of the dough this afternoon based on information I gleaned from the boards and some articles I googled.

Here is a link to the author's website.

tThere is a recipe for the basic dough in our Chicago paper and I'm thinking of giving it a try.  I'll be interested to hear how yours works for you.

I saw the accompanying video that is on the chicago paper's website.

I bought the book after making the basic dough several times. I used to be a big bread baker. My favorite was a bread that took three days to make which had the most wonderful flavor. Unfortunately, life got too busy and I stopped doing it. I was thrilled when I saw the Bittman no-knead recipe. It didn't compare to my sourdough breads but was well worth the little effort it required. That said, I had some difficulties fitting the timing of the bread into my schedule. Therefore, I was even more happy when I saw the article for the Artisan Bread in 5 min a day.