• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Queen Makeda

Busboy

I've been eating Ethiopian almost as long as anyone in America, I'll wager, and my wife has been going at it even longer -- she was a regular at the Blue Nile, if anyone else remembers DCs first Ethiopian restaurant ever. I am no expert, but I can say this: the last few years have seen a tremendous elevation in the quality of the cooking. The nuance of the spicing, the variety of the preparations and authenticity of the restaurants is way up. And Queen Makeda -- named for Soloman's Queen of Sheba -- is the latest example, I've stumbled across. Is it better than contenders for the "Best of" title like Dukem and Etete? I can't say. Would it have been the best Ethiopian in the city five years ago? I think so.

Let me begin by saying that even in foreign countries where I don't speak the language, I rarely encounter a language barrier like I have here, one made even more impenetrable by the size of our group. Despite painstaking -- and painful -- discussions, the raw meat came out cooked, some dishes never appeared and, stuff we thought we'd been told they'd 86'd came out instead. Don't come expecting a seamless dining experience.

But really, we didn't care. It was great company, for one. And the service was gracious to the point that they left the restaurant to get us Ethiopian beer when we expressed disappointment with the Heineken. And the food...