• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

How do you document your adventures with food?

ChrisZ

I'm an erratic and sporadic cook, but my interest in food is strong enough for me to have joined this forum and to consider cooking my primary hobby. But for a while now it has bothered me that I don't keep any sort of record of the things I have cooked and the meals I've eaten. I've been pondering different ways to go about this and I haven't been able to decide how to start. I like the idea of scribbling on paper but I'm a pretty techy guy and the advantages of a computer based record are appealing. But even so, what software package to use? How best to sort results - alphabetical / chronological / genres? etc etc etc... So many options, I'm not sure how to begin.

I'm eating a piece of pork belly that I cooked sous vide a few weeks ago and that has been sitting in its vacuum bag ever since. I can't remember what I cooked it with, which is a shame because it's delicious! I can pass restaurants I have eaten at with little recollection of what I had there or how much I enjoyed it... I can read a review of somewhere that sounds promising and then forget the name and where I read the review... I can flip through old cookbooks and see recipes that I meant to try but forgot about...