• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Little Black Egg Pizza Oven - How to make one at home

jmolinari

I've been using my Little black egg for a few years now, and i just posted instructions on how to make one on another food forum for Atlanta folks, 285foodies.com , and i thought i'd post it here too in an attempt to spread the gospel:) I didn't come up with this. Some folks on pizzamaking.com did, i just implemented the concept.

This will get you to the mythical 90 second neopolitan pie (assuming a proper dough), with proper char and flavor, for a small investment ($150 or so, possibly less). It's extraordinary. The only disadvantage is that it's 1 pie at a time, so the cook usually isn't eating, he's cooking and serving.

Pictures: http://picasaweb.google.com/jasonemolinari/LBE

You'll need:

18.5" weber kettle grill (standard grill at home depot)

1 6" unglazed quarry tile (home depot)

Bayou Classic Burner -

http://www.amazon.com/Bayou-Classic-SP10-High-Pressure-Outdoor/dp/B000291GBQ/ref=pd_bbs_2?ie=UTF8&s=home-garden&qid=1220027326&sr=8-2

Instant non-contact temperature gun -

http://www.amazon.com/Raytek-MT6-MiniTemp-Infrared-Thermometer/dp/B000O80B5M/ref=pd_cp_hg_1?pf_rd_p=413863601&pf_rd_s=center-41&pf_rd_t=201&pf_rd_i=B0002198GY&pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_r=06JJE2PPDFZG7NV3Y3AD OR http://www.amazon.com/KINTREX-Clear-Temp-IRT0421-Non-Contact/dp/B0017L9Q9C/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=home-garden&qid=1220027403&sr=1-1 they seem to be pretty much the same.