• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Pastry and Baking Books

gap

Hi,

I'm a very enthusiastic amateur in pastry. I've done a lot of chocolate/ice-cream work and am slowly working into other areas such as macaroons, tarts and entremets. I attend a pastry school in my local area when time/money allow.

I was wondering what the professionals out there thought were the best Pastry/Baking books going around that were all encompassing - ie., have a good explanation of theory and technique and also a lot of different/varied recipes to try.

I have the CIA/Peter Grewelling Chocolates and Confections book and love this from a chocolate perspective - lots on information, lots of explanation on ingredients, theory and techniques as well as the recipes and photos (which always help).

Looking through my local chefs cookbook store, there are some names which do seem to appear often, such as:

- The Professional Pastry Chef/The Advanced Professional Pastry Chef (Bo Friberg)

- Baking & Pastry: Mastering the Art & Craft (CIA)

- Advanced Bread and Pastry (Michel Suas)

- Professional Baking (Wayne Gisslen - LCB)

What do you think of these books? Are there better ones out there? What is your standout pastry/baking book?

Thanks for any thoughts

Edited by gap (log)

I applaud your interest and dedication. If you want good information on a broad subject range, I would recommend the Michel Suas book. I would also suggest you get the new book "Frozen Desserts" by CIA/Francisco Migoya. This concentrates on ice creams and other frozen desserts with beautiful photos of plated desserts made with the frozen confections.